Puréed Cauliflower

Cauliflower is the new kale.  You type cauliflower into a Pinterest search and you get anything from buffalo cauliflower bites to cauliflower pizza crust.  I’m glad because I feel like I have ignored it for years.   For one, it smells when it’s raw and I thought it was just boring.  I have tried the pizza crust (and have perfected it!) and the Asian flavored bites are a great appetizer.  I made this Puréed  cauliflower for one of my clients and when I tasted I fell in love! Soft, silky and aromatic, it was the perfect side dish.  Perfect addition for your Thanksgiving menu! Enjoy!

Puréed Cauliflower with garlic

Special Equipment – blender or food processor.  (A potato masher will work too)

1 head of Cauliflower

2 gloves of garlic

1/4 of a small onion, sliced

2 cups chicken stock

2 springs of fresh thyme

Salt and Pepper to taste

  1. Cut cauliflower into small florets. Add stock to a pot and heat to a boil. Once boiling, turn heat down to a nice simmer and add whole garlic, onion and cauliflower to the pot.  Cook for about 20 minutes until cauliflower is tender.  Strain into a bowl and add the cauliflower, garlic and onion to a blender or food processor. Add 2-3 tablespoons of the cooking liquid to the blender, the butter, and fresh thyme.  Blend until smooth.  (add more cooking liquid depending on the consistency you are looking for) Add puree to a bowl and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve Immediately!

Photo Nov 18, 8 38 35 PMPhoto Nov 18, 8 44 51 PM

Leave a comment